fone phollies

I have a hearty dislike for inconsiderate Philistines who carry on cell phone conversations in close quarters like restaurants, waiting rooms, etc. I’d vote to bring back smoking, if I could ban this exceptionally rude, obnoxious behavior. If you do it, shame on you.

A friend and I meet for lunch to chat. A group of 5-6 people choose a table next to us. They’re talking kind of loud. Just as my friend goes to rest room one of these people gets a cell phone call and begins talking loud for 3-5 minutes. This causes the rest of this party to raise the volume of their discussion so they can hear themselves over over her. It was hard to carry on our discussion near them before she got on the phone, it would now be next to impossible.

When I speak loud I have a booming voice that’s known by friends to penetrates walls. I decided if they were still operating at this volume when my friend returned I’d hold my own phone to my ear and say in a very loud voice “I CAN’T HEAR YOU! SOMEONE HERE’S TALKING LOUD ON A CELL PHONE.” This would have resounded throughout the restaurant dining room. Luckily for us both, she ended the conversation just as my friend returned.

______________________________
to comment just start typing under the words Leave a Reply below

~ by aloony on November 8, 2006.

2 Responses to “fone phollies”

  1. It seems great curmudgeonly minds think alike. I am a woman with a 2 octave vocal range who knows how to project my voice without a microphone. I’m also no shrinking violet. When it comes to speaking my truth I’m quite fiesty. And I’m with you on this issue for sure, for sure. In fact I have blogged about the ignorant jackasses making inappropriate uses of cell phones in a blog post called “Are You Using Your “Ass” Properly?” you may find it an amusing read or not. In either event “good on you” for writing this post. 🙂

  2. I would think that 1 or 2 person would be ok if they know the person in front although it does seem selfish and rude. If other people had been queueing up for a long time, then they should definately move to the back of the queue.

    I remember 1 day, there were about 50 people queueing up to buy train tickets at 1 counter only. Suddenly, 1 really old woman appeared and asked people at the front to buy ticket for her and tried to cut in the queue.

    Surprisingly, it was a young person who agreed to buy a ticket for her but at the same time, an elderly scolded the old woman, “Go queue up yourself! Everyone had been queueing up!”

Leave a Reply

